Tags

, , ,

Ivy League and I had our first date on Saturday night.

Name: Ivy League

Met on: Tinder

28 years old, never married, no kids

I got caught in horrible traffic and arrived at his house 20 minutes late. I hate being late! What should have taken 30 minutes took 50 minutes… to go 15 miles. Ah, the perils of bay area traffic.

I arrived at his place and had no idea where to park. I called him; he came out and jumped in my car and directed me to his roommate’s parking spot. (His roommate was out of town for the weekend.)

Ivy League was cute, slightly nerdy. I like slightly nerdy.

He had insisted on cooking me dinner. He prepared angel hair pasta and his famous homemade marinara sauce (he’s part Sicilian). I brought an embarrassingly expensive bottle of shiraz purchased last summer while wine tasting in Napa with my best friend.

He showed me to his apartment. He showed me the sweet view from the balcony. Then we sat down to eat. The marinara sauce was amazing. I don’t typically eat marinara – I prefer a meaty Bolognese – but this was awesome.

The wine quickly went straight to our heads. Note to self: I need to stop drinking wine.

After dinner, we sat talking about some pretty intense things. Not typical first date material. He was such a good listener and very empathetic, saying a genuine “I’m sorry” with a look of concern when I spoke about something sad or traumatic.

He got out an astrology book just for kicks and asked me my birthday. I am a Virgo with a Scorpio Venus. He is too! We read the part about Scorpio Venus (i.e. sex stuff). It did not paint a positive sexual picture of me so we decided to disregard it. One part was right on, though: The part about me being able to sense interest from across a crowded room. I am very intuitive.

We decided to watch a Netflix movie afterward. We put on one of my favorite movies, Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo + Juliet. We didn’t watch much of the movie, though. We made out for over an hour instead, then had sweet sex.

He had some issues maintaining a strong erection. This seems to be a pattern with most of the men I’ve been dating recently. What is this about?! They are, of course, mortified about it. I wonder if it has to do with performance anxiety. Surprisingly, it seems to happen most often with the younger guys.

Ivy League claimed his dysfunction was from the wine. Who knows. I am glad I am a woman and don’t have to worry about that myself.

We cuddled and kissed for the rest of the evening. He asked me to stay overnight but, of course, that is out of the question until I am completely moved into my new flat and have my own schedule. He was disappointed.

I left his house at quarter to 2 am. We have exchanged several texts since then.

I like him. He is sweet and seems to be a gung-ho ‘jump in with both feet’ type guy when it comes to love.

Later today, I will post about last night’s third date with Smith.

