I had my 2nd Brazilian wax on Friday. I wasn’t going to go again for these reasons: 1) It’s expensive, 2) I have super fast re-growth, 3) I get angry ingrown hairs, and 4) I don’t like the way it looks.

However, two of my friends wanted us to all go together, kind of like a twisted spa day, and then we’d go to lunch afterward. Since I’d recently been gifted a bunch of scratch-off lottery tickets from a consultant at work and had actually won $57 (woohooo!), I decided to bite the bullet and do it.

I opted for sugaring this time, which is supposedly better for those with sensitive skin and those prone to ingrown hairs. I am both.

I took 3 Advil about 1.5 hours before my appointment.

The result? Awesome! I was so much happier with the entire experience. The pain level during the procedure was around a 5 instead of the previous time’s 8. It might have been due to the sugaring but was probably due to the Advil. Definitely opt for the Advil!

I didn’t get nearly as much redness, which is credited to the sugaring. My waxer actually had to switch from sugar to hard wax halfway through because the hair on the… ahem… inner area was causing some issues.

I’m proud to report that I didn’t say “ouch!” once. Advil really is key.

It was one friend’s third time and the other friend’s first time. The 1st time friend was pretty pleased even though she said it hurt. I think she’ll be a repeat customer.

Afterward, we went to lunch at a sweet little southern café across the street. If I can work out the expense, I’d like to make this a regular thing. I’m really enjoying the result while I can. With my speedy hair growth, I know it won’t last long.

