Tags

, ,

I re-watched the old 1998 Gwyneth Paltrow movie Sliding Doors 3 weeks ago. It’s a bit dated and cheesy now but I still love the message: that fate always prevails. That things always work out the way they’re supposed to. And, in Sliding Doors fashion, that your life will turn out the same despite all the twists and turns along the way.

Would my life be different now had I chosen different paths in my life? Or, like in Sliding Doors, would fate have always intervened in a bizarre way and set me right where I am now?

Where would I be now had I married my first serious boyfriend? Would we still be married and living in Arkansas?

What about if I’d joined the Air Force and become a doctor? Would I now be living a sophisticated life overseas?

What if I’d dropped out of architecture school? Would I have eventually made my way back into the profession?

What if I’d moved to Seattle as planned after college graduation?

What if I’d married my ex-fiance instead of breaking off the wedding date? Would we be divorced now?

What if I’d never joined match.com back in 1998? I probably never would have met Mars. Or would I have met him in some other equally random way?

What if I’d never had kids? Or had 3 kids instead of 2? Or 1 instead of 2?

What if Mars and I hadn’t separated?

Or… had I chosen any of the above paths, would I still be right where I am now by some bizarre twist of fate?

Thinking about it boggles my mind.

What do you think? Do you believe in the Sliding Doors premise? I like to think life works like in Sliding Doors. You can’t make bad decisions that way. Things will always work out the way they’re supposed to. Fate. Serendipity.

