Life happened and I’m now a day behind. *blush* Let’s pretend I’m not.

Day 2: Where Would I Like to be in 10 Years?

It’s best if I work in categories. Below are my hopes for the future.

I will be in my mid-50s, my daughter will be a teenager, and my son will be legal drinking age. Oh my god.

Relationships:

Will I still be with Texas? Of course, I hope we are still together and have an awesome partnership filled with passion, love, honesty, respect, and admiration. I hope our sex life is just as good, if not better, than it is now.

I also hope I will have stronger relationships with my friends. We all live in different cities and have young children, which means it’s tough to see each other on a regular basis. I hope that within 10 years when our children are older, we are at least taking annual weekend trips away together.

I am always striving to be a better mother, daughter, sister, friend, and partner.

Money:

In 10 years, I hope to be making at least 40% more than I am now. While it seems almost impossible typing it out, the reality is that my current career will not be able to successfully meet this income requirement. I need to ramp up my writing gigs in order to dramatically supplement my income. In 10 years, I will be nearing the end of my spousal support payments. Since my kids will be older and one may not even be living with me anymore, I may even move out of San Francisco to an area with a more reasonable cost of living. I am tired of pinching pennies despite having a great career making good money.

In 10 years, I hope to be financially stable, once again aggressively saving for my retirement, and fully recovered from the divorce’s devastating financial effects.

I will own my own home.

And, in 10 years, I hope to be close to retirement. Unlike my friend Lola, I will not be able to retire at age 55. I’m so jealous!

Work:

See above for most of it. Haha. I might pursue management level positions at work. I might not. (I’m still undecided.)

I hope to have possibly published a book or two within 10 years. Niche: children’s fantasy.

Health & fitness:

I hope to be rocking my health and fitness even harder in 10 years. I will still be active but I hope to be in even better shape than I am now. I hope my health has improved in 10 years because, frankly, having young kids sucks for the immune system. This winter has been especially horrendous for all 3 of us.

—–

One thing is for sure: My life will be even better than it is now. My life has continued to improve over time. My 30s were much better than my 20s and, so far, my 40s have been much better than my 30s. My 50s will undoubtedly be better than my 40s.

