Day 4: Discuss your views on religion

I don’t have much to say on this topic. I am not religious, which I partly attribute to a bad childhood experience. I do consider myself spiritual, though. The two do not go hand-in-hand.

I am and always have been agnostic.

When I was in college, I took a sociology course titled “Magic, Witchcraft, and Religion”. It was brilliant. What I learned: All three attempt to control outcomes and provide answers to the unknown.

I tend toward Type A and have a tendency to try to control so it’s surprising to me that religion (or magic or witchcraft) doesn’t appeal to me. I am fine not having answers.

I do have some experience with witchcraft in the form of a voodoo doll purchased from Marie Laveau‘s House of Voodoo in New Orleans. I contemplated sharing last Halloween (fitting, right?) and might still share the story at some point in the future. I will say, for now, that I used it twice and both times it was shockingly effective. Coincidental, I’m sure… but I don’t want to use it again to find out.

