I’m a quarter of the way through Mind Jo Business‘s 30 Day Blog Challenge!

Day 7: What were your favorite childhood toys?

My vintage life-like baby doll. I purchased her at an antique warehouse when I was 7 years old for $60 out of my saved-up allowance. That was a huge amount of money back then, especially for a kid! She was that important to me and I had to have her. It was love at first sight. I still regret letting my dad take her to the city dump when I was a teenager… but my little sister had written all over her face in Sharpie marker and her vinyl body was torn in several places. She was a wreck, irreparable. RIP Robin. I’m still sad. I had a vivid imagination and she was my “real” baby for several years.

Lite Brite. The tiny colored pegs must have been a pain in the ass for my parents to deal with but I adored Lite Brite. And this reminds me: I should probably buy one for my daughter for her upcoming birthday. Oh wait, the pegs….!

lite-brite

Baby Alive. A doll that eats, drinks, pees, and poops and then you change real messy diaper? For a child, this was thrilling. (For an adult with a real baby, it’s not nearly as much fun.) She had a mechanized mouth that looked like she was chewing/sucking. Yes, it sounded like a motor. In hindsight, that was kind of creepy.  She came with packets of powder that you mixed with water to make “baby food”: cherry, banana, and lime flavors/colors.

babyalive

Easy Bake Oven. I still vividly remember the first time I made a cake in it and how incredibly delicious it was. Plus, what’s more fun than baking treats in tiny elf-sized kitchenware?

easybake

Miniature cars. I still have my fairly extensive collection of miniature cars: various Matchbox, Hot Wheels, Tomica Pocket Cars, and Corgi. A few might be worth a lot of money… but I’m not selling. They’re the only piece of nostalgia I have leftover from my childhood.

tomy-jaguar

I even have this Jaguar XJS

