Tags

Until this past year, I had no idea that there was a “dating equation” for calculating appropriate age difference for romance. I’ve since learned it’s common knowledge, as it comes up in conversation a lot when discussing dates and dating.

Formula: Your age divided by 2 plus 7

Applying this to myself (age 45), my non-creepy lower limit for dating would be age 29-1/2.

Incidentally, I’ve had my lower age limit set to age 30 on my dating apps… not necessarily because I knew about this formula but because it didn’t seem grossly inappropriate.

My upper limit is set to age 50. Last spring, I had it set to 52 but reduced it after some unofficial beta testing.

So why am I going to go on a date with a 26 year old next week? Good question. I will update afterward on whether or not it was a good idea.

