Tags

, , , ,

I should really keep a list. I’ll be doing that from now on.

Off the top of my head, here are the various reasons younger men have given me for preferring older women:

  • They know what they want
  • They have their shit together
  • They are more fun
  • They are much better in bed, more giving
  • They are sexier
  • They don’t play head games
  • They’re more laid-back
  • They have less emotional baggage (I thought this was particularly interesting)
  • Later, around 50 and beyond, there’s no risk of pregnancy

I think these guys are onto something. I believe the absence of a “ticking biological clock” (since I already have kids and don’t want more) mellowed me. I now accept a relationship for what it is, not necessarily for what it will be, and no longer constantly question long-term viability. Since my divorce, I truly believe that all relationships have a shelf-life, anyway. Might as well enjoy each one for what it is for as long as I can.

I am loving dating in my 40s after marriage and kids.

On a related note, a 23 year old guy I was chatting with today said something interesting. He said women close to his age aren’t interested, and that 25-30 year old women think he’s too young for them. That led him to dating older, and he found he loved it. This guy is no slouch, either: gorgeous, tall, super fit, smart (he went to an elite private university), and successful. If you ask me, those younger women are insane.

 

