Tags

A couple weeks ago, when my kids and I were at a movie theater to see Pete’s Dragon, I got a flash of “my perfect guy” before the lights dimmed and the movie started. I don’t know why or what triggered this, but I suddenly had a very specific idea in my mind about who he would be.

He’d be tall, dark, and handsome. He’d be very fit… but not too fit or too obsessed. He’d like ice cream just as much as I do, after all. He’d have a killer smile, dimples, and kind happy eyes. He’d have a great job he loves and is passionate about… but not so passionate that he works long hours. He’d have a effortless, classic yet trendy sense of style. He’d adore my kids; my kids would love him. My family would love him. He’d be kind, thoughtful, affectionate, and friendly…a genuinely good guy.

I would be a better person because of him. I’d feel like the luckiest girl in the world as I sat in the movie theater next to him, our hands on each other’s legs, talking and joking with each other, looking at each other lovingly.

The details of this perfect guy surprised me in their intensity.

Later, at home, just before drifting off to sleep, I thought of him again. I relished each excruciating detail. Thoughts become reality, right? I fell asleep happy and emotionally fulfilled.

Quite often I think Riley in the movie Inside Out had the right idea: an imaginary boyfriend. The more vivid the imagination, the more satisfying the “relationship” would be. I remember sitting in the movie theater 1.5 years ago watching that clip in the movie and thinking, “Why didn’t I think of that?!”

It’s brilliant. It would cut out all the dating bullshit and I’d get my imaginary perfect guy at the same time. And, of course, since he’s not real, he would never disappoint me or make me cry. Win/win.

