Tags

, , , , ,

I had another lovely date with Joaquin last night. He brought me flowers! A gorgeous bunch of sunflowers. Aww, be still my heart.

We listened to music, talked, and fucked like bunnies. We connected in an unprecedented way. Our time together felt so raw, primal, and intimate. I feel even closer to him.

One of the things we talked about is marriage. He’s anti-marriage. I’m pro-marriage, but I doubt I’ll ever remarry. I believe all relationships have a shelf life.

Even with the divorce rate as high as it is, I like the concept of marriage. I like the legal protection, the security, and the commitment.

My marriage didn’t work because Mars and I both changed during the marriage. Also, he gave up. I honestly don’t think there’s anything that could have been done to prevent our divorce.

When I finished telling Joaquin all this, he said, “See?! That’s an even better reason why people should never marry.”

I disagreed.

I don’t regret my marriage. I would do it all over again even knowing divorce would be the outcome. Mars and I have a solid friendship, a great co-parenting relationship, and 2 beautiful kids.

During our courtship, there were no red flags. He was a good friend even then, it felt familiar and comfortable, and the sex was awesome. Marriage was eventually a natural choice for us. I had no concerns about marrying him. I had no reason to be concerned.

And generally speaking, I loved being married.

I asked Joaquin if he’s polyamorous then. He said hell no. (Gold star for him!) He said he likes monogamous relationships, just not marriage.

I know Joaquin likes to date. He says he’s having a great time being un-tethered. He didn’t ask me about my dating life but he did say, “If you’re dating, don’t tell me! I don’t want to know.” He put his hands over his ears and said, “Don’t say anything!”

I secretly love that he doesn’t like the idea of me dating other guys.

