Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve had my kids for the past 4 days as well as every weekend for the past month. Many of the prospects I was talking with 2 weeks ago have eased way up on the communications. I think they’ve lost interest; I don’t blame them.

I did have a spur-of-the-moment Bumble date yesterday at a music festival. I was supposed to have my kids with me but they opted out at the last minute (they’d attended with me the day before and got burnt out). I was going to find a sitter but, fortunately, Mars was able to take them. I was supposed to meet up with various people on Saturday with the kids but it never happened. The festival was ridiculously crowded and I knew it would be a miracle to try to find anyone.

I knew Bumble dude was going to be there all day yesterday, and Joaquin had said he’d meet up with me toward the end of the festival. Whether or not I’d actually be able to find them there was uncertain.

Bumble dude said it was okay if it didn’t work out and we’d just have to have a real first date. By miracle, it worked out!

48 years old, dad to 2 tween girls, mechanical engineer, and has an infectious laugh like Seth Rogen. I’ll call him Seth.

I had swiped right because he reminded me of a college boyfriend.

We described what we were wearing and our location and, unbelievably, found each other. Upon meeting, it was like we already knew each other. Comfortable and easy.

We were both there to see Cake. We snaked through the crowd together and got a great spot near the front of the stage in a huge sea of people. He said, “You’re really cute”, kissed me on the cheek, and offered me Belgian beer from his backpack. We danced and sang to Cake. It was a blast.

After the concert ended, I had to rush home to relieve Mars of childcare duties. When my bus arrived, Seth hugged me and gave me a kiss on the lips. Admittedly, I wasn’t attracted to him, but we had fun and we both love live music. I’d like to go on another date, a “real” date, and further assess.

He’s been texting me nonstop since last night, saying somewhat alarming things, such as “When you held onto my hand when we were walking through the crowd, it felt like it belonged there”, “I like you”, and “If you were mine, I’d never let you question for a moment how much you mean to me.” All very sweet things, yes, but somewhat inappropriate given we’d just met.

Not surprisingly, I never heard from Joaquin yesterday. I’m feeling a little bitter in general about him… just several little things finally building up. Unless he has a great explanation for why I didn’t hear from him at all last weekend, I’ll probably tell him that this isn’t working for me. I’m not his good time. I’m not his fall-back crutch.

I don’t feel comfortable texting him first and he isn’t reaching out, either. It makes me feel unappreciated and unimportant. And, truthfully, it makes me wonder if he has a girlfriend. Something just doesn’t feel right.

This weekend is my first kid-free weekend since early September and I still don’t know how it will pan out. I do, however, have dates for the next 4 evenings. Hayden is coming over tonight. I have my kids until tomorrow night but, since he’s met them before, he can come over and hang out.

I have a first date schedule for tomorrow night… if he actually responds to last night’s message to confirm. We have a location and time set but I haven’t heard from him for 3 days so I’m not sure what to think. Details later.

I have a first date scheduled for Wednesday night. It will be a late night date because I’m having dinner with extended family in the east bay first after work. This dude is young – 23 years old – but he’s stuck around these past 3 weeks fairly patiently. He’s earned a date. Haha. I’ve mentioned him before here. Details later.

I have a date on Thursday night with Smolder.

I hope to have a leisurely weekend date with Hayden either Friday or Saturday night. It will be nice to sleep in, snuggle, and not have to rush off to work. Not sure who will be the lucky recipient of the other night. Maybe Joaquin, if he’s still in the picture by then.

After I provided the girlfriend update on Adonis, I got a text from him on Friday evening inviting me over to his house to drink. What what?! In shock, I asked him again if he had a girlfriend and he said yes. Whatever, dude. I was already back in San Francisco by then and had my kids, anyway, so meeting up with him that night was impossible. I told him I’d take a rain check. Now I’m curious.

