This morning I got an email saying the guitar I purchased in November is finally off back-order and in transit to me. Hallelujah!

My fingers can barely tolerate any more of my son’s crappy guitar. I still have blisters. I’m still in pain. My fingertips are constantly numb. The skin is peeling on several fingers.

It’s not normal to be in so much pain for this long. (6 weeks now!)

The reason: The strings of this guitar are strung about 1/2″ above the fret board. I knew this was a problem but I didn’t realize how much of a problem it really was until a good chunk of time passed and I was still experiencing issues. I mean, honestly, I can’t play for more than 10 minutes without my fingers screaming in protest. And I can’t easily make the chords ring clear, either. There’s a lot of buzzing.

I found out the origin of my son’s guitar last night. It was homemade by his dad’s friend. She’s not a musician.

I think once I receive the new guitar, I’ll be able to progress much more rapidly.

