Tags

, , , ,

As mentioned in my previous post, I did some research Saturday night on how to recover from a broken heart. I thought I’d share the articles in case they help someone else.

I discovered that getting over a relationship is like overcoming cocaine addiction. Now, I don’t have any experience with drug addiction but this makes a lot of sense to me. I do feel like I’m overcoming an addiction to Hayden… the endorphin rush of getting a text from him, seeing him, snuggling him, kissing him. These euphoric love feelings are hard to say goodbye to. I adore being in love.

8 Steps To Mend A Broken Heart – This is the article that includes the brilliant idea of writing three different love stories in the 3rd person.

Healing from Heartbreak – I especially liked how one of the tips said to do something new that you don’t associate with your ex. I forgot to mention that when I went on my recent date I deliberately chose my neighborhood microbrewery. I’d been there with Hayden twice before, including very recently. It was good to go there again with someone new. Also on this same date we went to the old dive bar where Hayden and I had our first date. Aww. Again, it was good to get that out of the way and enjoy it with someone else on a first date.

20 Ways to Recover from Holiday Heartbreak – Great tips here even though I didn’t have a holiday breakup… unless you count the upcoming wretched Valentine’s Day. Ugh.

I’m not out of the woods yet. I still cry occasionally. But, overall, I’m feeling more control over my emotions. While Hayden and I had an amazingly sweet relationship, it’s helping me to remember the things that weren’t quite right. Putting a spotlight on the flaws is helping.

If my next relationship is even a slight improvement over my relationship with Hayden, I will be ecstatic and consider myself lucky.

In other news, it’s possible Racer X will be in town again this spring. I sure hope so! I miss him. We’ve scheduled a phone chat for tomorrow morning during my commute.

 

