Tags

, , , , , , ,

Prior to Monday, I was eager and excited to date once again. On Monday, however, I had a complete and sudden shift.

Suddenly, I doubt I’ll be able to find someone good enough for me. I honestly don’t mean to sound arrogant… but, in thinking back to my past dates and recent relationships, I can only think of one guy that was normal (this is huge), down-to-earth, respectful, kind, and “good enough”: Dude #5 from Phase 2.

For example:

  • Tex is overly-sensitive and has control issues
  • Hayden can’t handle his emotions and drinks too much
  • Joaquin is full of drama
  • Colombian Hottie is flighty
  • The Blond Mandarin is inappropriate

I don’t know which way is up anymore. Suddenly, swiping through OK Cupid and Bumble is uninteresting, almost depressing, because I wonder what issues lurk behind the happy profiles.

My standards have changed. My downtime is too valuable to spend with just any old shmuck. He needs to show pretty significant promise if I’m going to give up “quiet home alone” time. I have spoiled myself.

Things are eerily quiet on both OKC and Bumble but I attributed it to Valentine’s Day. I bet things will pick up now that it’s over….

The few I have been talking with have been real duds. More details about that coming soon in a separate post.

During our Valentine’s dinner with the kids last night, I lamented to Mars that I just want to find someone I enjoy spending time with that doesn’t also annoy me. (This simple desire is surprisingly incredibly difficult to find!). He cracked up and said I should state that in my online dating profile. I’m seriously considering it.

My Valentine’s Day didn’t go as planned but it was still awesome. I was one of those obnoxious people and wore a red blouse to work. I treated Jill to a fancy lunch. I met Mars and the kids for dinner. I presented the kids with Valentine treats.

I bought myself a small, sweet bouquet of cheery flowers. Pic attached. I couldn’t find Godiva chocolates – or they were sold out? – so I got the next best thing: Dove dark chocolates. I bought a package of the cheesy heart-shaped foil wrapped chocolates. Yum. I was jonesing for them all day yesterday while I was at work.

vday2017-flowers

I planned to go see Hidden Figures but the movie didn’t started until 10 pm, which meant I wouldn’t get home until at least 12:30 am. I said fuck it and decided to rent a movie On Demand instead. Jill highly recommended the 1995 version of Sense & Sensibility. I loved it… and sobbed at certain points.

I had also forgotten that the series This Is Us was on last night, so I watched that as well.

I ate dark chocolate and drank 2 liters of sparkling water while lounging on the couch under a blanket. By the time the movie and the TV show was over, it was 12:15 am. I then did a quick workout and hit the hay. No time for a hot bath or self-love/masturbation. But, no worries, I made up for it this morning.

I hope you all had a fantastic Valentine’s Day!

