Tags

, , ,

My date with Matt 2 on Saturday night went very well. I’m not yet sure there’s a love connection but I will certainly go out with him again to further assess the chemistry. We had an awesome time, though. He is a great conversationalist, we seem compatible (we’re an 83% compatibility match), he’s a good guy, and there were no glaring red flags.

Name: Matt 2

Met on: OK Cupid

43 years old, works for Southwest Airlines, never married, no kids

We met at Barrel Head Brewery at 8 pm. He was waiting outside when I arrived. It was packed inside but luckily we didn’t have to wait for a table. However, the 2-top table we were given was long so we were seated far enough from each other that it was a little difficult to hear each other over the noise of the venue plus my muffled hearing from allergy inflammation.

We moved tables and sat next to each other about 30 minutes later as the nearby parties started clearing out.

Over the course of the evening, we each had 3 beers while discussing fitness programs, our families, past relationships, and travel. He said, “Since I work for Southwest Airlines, I get to bring guests on free flights as part of their Buddy Program. If you play your cards right, you can be my buddy.” I laughed.

Other Matt 2 facts:

  • He is an identical twin
  • His longest relationship is 6 months

I worry about that last one. It seems like a red flag. I questioned him about it and he said that he has a pattern of getting into relationships quickly, then they fizzle out just as quickly. I told him I’m the opposite: I casually date until I’ve determined compatibility and feelings have solidly developed.

We lost track of time and before we knew it, it was midnight. He walked me to my car and gave me a goodnight kiss. It turned into a mini make-out session. He’s a good kisser but I wasn’t feeling fireworks.

The lack of fireworks concerns me. Further investigation is obviously necessary. We are already trying to schedule a 2nd date. I love that he is very interested in knowing more about me – he has been asking very insightful questions over text.

The Bay Area is currently enjoying gorgeous spring-like weather… finally! It’s overdue and has really lifted my spirits. I spent some time outside sprinting at Kezar Stadium’s track early Saturday morning. Yesterday, I met Jill at the SF MOMA to see the Matisse & Diebenkorn exhibit.

The exhibit rocked my world. I have always loved Richard Diebenkorn’s work but had no idea until yesterday that he was raised in San Francisco.

I especially love his Ocean Park series from when he lived in Santa Monica.

ocean-park-no-45

Ocean Park #45

I’ve been wanting to resume painting for years but seeing Diebenkorn’s work yesterday inspired me and gave me the push I needed. I’m ordering canvases today.

While driving to work today I saw the world as Diebenkorn paintings.

On my way home from the museum yesterday, I stopped in at the T-Mobile store to ask about my excessive dropped texts. The associate there gave me a new sim card, saying that it fixes the issue 99% of the time. Crossing my fingers it does the trick.

I have 2 kid-free nights this week. I had a date with a 31 year old artist tomorrow night but he had to cancel this morning. We’re meeting next week instead.

So far both kid-free nights are unscheduled. I may or may not fill them with dates. A low-key evening by myself catching up on some shows sounds divine.

