Tags

,

Friday I’m in Love – The Cure

What a week! It’s been a long, stressful week and I’m glad it’s almost over.

Hayden is coming over tonight. Woohoo! I broke my own rule about buying and keeping alcohol in my house – there’s a lovely pinot noir waiting for me at home. I purchased it while grocery shopping yesterday. $3.99 for a 2014 pinot noir from BV was too good to pass up.

(A glass of wine per night is allowed on my new eating plan but I hadn’t taken advantage of it until last night.)

I poured myself a glass to enjoy last night with my dinner of butter lemon chicken and black beans. It was surprisingly lovely, especially considering it was priced so low! I plan to polish off the rest of the bottle tonight while sharing it with Hayden.

He’s already told me he plans to stay overnight tonight. I’m really looking forward to the overnight snuggles.

I’m planning a trip to Yellowstone next month with my sister and her family. Mars will be joining us… mainly because I can’t cover the cost of the trip for myself and both kids solo. We split the cost 50/50 when we vacation together – win/win for everyone.

Mars, the kids, and I will be driving to eastern Idaho with my mom. My sister, her husband, and their son are flying. We’ll have a family reunion with my mom’s side of the family in eastern Idaho before my sister and I take off for Yellowstone. My mom will be staying in Idaho to visit with her family.

All the planning, reserving, and requesting time off in the 11th hour has only come together in the past week… typical of how I usually plan vacations.

I am so excited for this trip! We’ll be staying 2 nights in Jackson Hole (including on the 4th of July – lots of fun), 1 night at Canyon Lodge inside Yellowstone National Park, and 1 night in the town of West Yellowstone. We’ll stop in Idaho on the way back to pick up my mom before driving back to San Francisco.

All the driving is going to suck so badly but it’s saving us over a thousand bucks. Plus, we’re taking my Prius so transportation costs will be negligible. It’s going to be a tight fit with 5 of us.

I haven’t yet told Hayden about my holiday plans, and I feel sad knowing that I won’t see him for a week. If the tables were turned, I’d be really hurt knowing he planned a week-long vacation over a holiday without me. However, I’m a big traveler – he’s not. He might not care and might even welcome a quiet week to himself. Who knows. I’m projecting.

No other news to report at the moment, which is a nice change. It means there’s no drama!

